Main Content

Classroom Enhancement Grants

Guidelines | Limitations | Eligibility | Application Process | Resources | Recent Grants

Next grant deadline: Sept. 13, 2021
Deadline to request access to the application: Sept. 10, 2021

Download Classroom Enhancement Grants Flyer

The Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation was started in 1995 to improve the quality of life in designated rural communities in southern Oklahoma. The Trustees established the Classroom Enhancement Grant Program to enhance the classroom experience in selected rural school districts in Oklahoma.

Grants of up to $5,000 are available to eligible public school classrooms and public school libraries, grades pre-K through 12, for enhancement projects that provide an opportunity to enrich the teaching environment in the following areas: 1)Arts and Humanities, 2) Science or 3) Literacy. Projects should be integrated into the academic curriculum and provide students with a significant opportunity to expand their knowledge or understanding in the specific area of study. No virtual or distance learning projects will be considered for funding. Find a list of resources here.

Application Process
Submit a one-paragraph description of the proposed project to k.barnes@occf.org. Please read the grant guidelines carefully before applying.

The Oklahoma City Community Foundation administers this grant program for the Trustees of the Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation. Please contact info@ruraloklahoma.org if you have any questions or need any additional information.

Funding for the following items will generally be excluded unless essential to the success of the program:

  • Videos or DVDs
  • Office equipment or furniture
  • Computers (including Chromebooks), SMART boards, projectors, televisions, iPads, hot spots, or any hardware designed for virtual/distance learning
  • Athletic, extracurricular or service learning activities or equipment
  • Multi-media equipment such as digital cameras and video equipment

To be eligible for a Classroom Enhancement grant, schools must be located within the counties and districts listed below, and must have a Rural: Fringe, Rural: Distant or Rural: Remote Urban-Centric Locale Code from the National Center for Education Statistics.

Eligible public schools (grades Pre-K thru 12) must be located within the counties and districts listed below:

Eligible counties: Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Caddo, Cherokee, Choctaw, Coal, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Jackson, Johnston, Kiowa, Latimer, McCurtain, McIntosh, Okfuskee, Pushmataha, Tillman, Washita

Specifically, the following school districts are eligible to apply:

Adair County: Cave Springs, Dahlonegah, Greasy, Maryetta, Peavine, Rocky Mountain, Watts, Westville, Zion

Atoka County: Atoka, Caney, Harmony, Lane, Stringtown, Tushka

Bryan County: Achille, Bennington, Caddo, Colbert, Rock Creek, Silo

Caddo County: Binger-Oney, Apache, Carnegie, Cement, Cyril, Fort Cobb-Broxton, Gracemont, Hinton, Lookeba-Sickles

Cherokee County: Briggs, Grand View, Hulbert, Keys, Lowrey, Norwood, Peggs, Shady Grove, Tenkiller, Woodall

Choctaw County: Boswell, Fort Towson, Hugo, Soper

Coal County: Coalgate, Cottonwood, Tupelo

Greer County: Granite, Lakeside

Harmon County: Hollis

Haskell County: Keota, Kinta, McCurtain, Whitefield

Jackson County: Blair, Duke, Navajo, Olustee-Eldorado

Johnston County: Coleman, Mannsville, Milburn, Mill Creek, Ravia, Tishomingo, Wapanucka

Kiowa County: Lone Wolf, Mountain View-Gotebo, Snyder

Latimer County: Buffalo Valley, Panola, Red Oak

McCurtain County: Battiest, Denison, Eagletown, Forest Grove, Glover, Haworth, Holly Creek, Lukfata, Smithville, Valliant, Wright City

McIntosh County: Eufaula, Hanna, Ryal, Stidham

Okfuskee County: Bearden, Graham-Dustin, Mason, Okemah, Paden, Weleetka

Pushmataha County: Albion, Antlers, Clayton, Moyers, Nashoba, Rattan, Tuskahoma

Tillman County:  Davidson, Grandfield, Oklahoma Youth Academy, Tipton

Washita County: Burns Flat-Dill City, Canute, Sentinel

The goal of the Carolyn Watson Rural Oklahoma Community Foundation Classroom Enhancement Grant program is to enhance the classroom experience for rural students by providing opportunities designed to enrich traditional curriculum. The resources below offer a variety of ideas and opportunities in the program’s three focus areas that we hope will assist you in developing your project.

Arts and Humanities
Oklahoma Resources:

Online Resources:

Oklahoma Resources:

Online Resources:

Oklahoma Resources:

Online Resources:

Recent Grants

Canute Public Schools (Washita County)
Reading in the Wild
$2,000 to support an interactive reading and learning opportunity about nature and wildlife.

Cement Public Schools (Caddo County)
Improving the Accelerated Reader program
$3,000 to add and update books for the library's Accelerated Reader program.

Fort Cobb Broxton Public Schools (Caddo County)
Aquaponics System Research
$4,050 to support aquaponics research to expand students' agricultural literacy and enhance STEM learning.

Granite Public Schools (Greer County)
Ready to Succeed Initiative
$1,000 to purchase tested reading materials for each classroom setting.

Keys Public Schools (Cherokee County)
Paintings and Ceramic Art
$1,000 to purchase acrylic paints and canvases for students to paint and display at the school.

Lowrey Public School District (Cherokee County)
Students Tumble for Literacy
$1,600 to purchase a collection of interactive eBooks and enhance students' learning opportunities.

Mannsville School (Johnston County)
ABC's at My Fingertips
$1,000 to purchase auditory and kinesthetic learning activities for special education students.

Navajo Public Schools (Jackson County)
Stories for Students
$1,000 to purchase fiction books for fourth-grade classrooms.

Rattan Elementary School (Pushmataha County)
Accelerated Reader Book Gran
$3,000 to purchase books for the Accelerated Reader program.

Tishomingo Public Schools (Johnston County)
Let the Sun Shine and the Wind Blow, Renewable Energy Lessons
$4,992 to purchase a hands-on, cross-curricular component on renewable energy sources for sixth- and seventh-grade students.

Tishomingo Public Schools (Johnston County)
Today's Readers are Tomorrow's Leaders
$5,000 to purchase an online book subscription to enhance the Accelerated Reader program.

Watts Public Schools (Adair County)
$4,000 to support an aquaponics programs and enhance agricultural education.

Westville Public Schools (Adair County)
Researching the Deep
$500 to enhance science curriculum with a trip to the Oklahoma Aquarium.

Westville Public Schools (Adair County)
Art Enhancement Through the Ages
$600 to supplement art history lessons with a trip to the Cherokee Heritage Center in Tahlequah, OK.

Whitefield Public Schools (Haskell County)
Science Inquiry Takes Flight: Combining Literacy and STEM in the Elementary Classroom
$3,400 to enhance STEM curriculum with elements and excursions around environmental science, rocketry and space exploration.