Investment Management

Since our founding in 1969, the Oklahoma City Community Foundation has served as central Oklahoma’s leading advocate for building endowment funds through not only support from donors but also through sound investment and distribution strategies.

Our investment policy benefits all endowments, large and small, because we balance the use of active managers and index funds in a way that maximizes the opportunity for adding value while keeping the cost low. Over the past five years, administrative expenses have averaged just under 40 basis points (40/100 of 1 percent).

The policy has four major objectives:

  1. Capital preservation
  2. Inflation protection
  3. Continuing source of annual distribution for charitable purposes
  4. Investment return in the top third of professionally-managed funds

Our Investment Committee and its role
The committee includes both current Trustees and non-Trustees who have a strong investment expertise and who volunteer their time and knowledge. The committee, along with investment counsel, determines asset allocation between equity and fixed income sectors.

The committee for Fiscal Year 2019(July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019) is:

Mike Collison, Chairman Kirkland Hall
Steven C. Agee Edward Krei
Martha Burger Bond Payne
Steven C. Davis Laura Ratliff
Mo Grotjohn
J. Edward Barth, Ex Officio James H. Holloman Jr., Ex Officio
Paul Dudman, Ex Officio Christian K. Keesee, Ex Officio

The committee uses a style-based investor management system and allocates assets to specific investment styles. The committee hires the managers and currently uses three active managers – two for equities and one for fixed income investments.

Investment Performance Results
Fourth Quarter Fiscal Year 2018 (Apr. 1, 2018-June 30, 2018)
Third Quarter Fiscal Year 2018 (Jan. 1, 2018-March31,2018)
Second Quarter Fiscal Year 2018 (Oct. 1, 2017-Dec. 31, 2017)
First Quarter Fiscal Year 2018 (July 1, 2017-Sept. 30, 2017)
Fiscal Year 2017 (July 1, 2016-June 30, 2017)
Fiscal Year 2016 (July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016)
Fiscal Year 2015 (July 1, 2014-June 30, 2015)
Fiscal Year 2014 (July 1, 2013-June 30, 2014)
Fiscal Year 2013 (July 1, 2012-June 30, 2013)