Lawton Community Foundation Awards $26,500 in Scholarships to 14 High School Seniors

Scholars at the breakfast event
2017-18 Lawton Community Foundation scholarship recipients
Front row, (L-R): Daezhana Simmonds, Courtney Martin, Kaisen Walker, Elizabeth Godfrey, Sydney Crockett, Kayla Ash
Back row, (L-R): Zachary Garrett, Ryan Ard, Zachary Hanna, Louis Jackson, Kai Daniels, Elijah Kirton, Jacob O’Connor, Danielle Lewis

The Lawton Community Foundation awarded $26,500 in scholarships to 14 high school seniors from Lawton and the surrounding area at the Foundation’s annual scholarship breakfast April 25 at Cameron University. Scholarships were presented to recipients from each of the three Lawton public high schools, as well as Cache, Elgin and Frederick high schools.

“The Lawton Community Foundation is honored to award scholarships to these hard-working students,” said George Bridges, president of the Lawton Community Foundation Board of Trustees. “Through our scholarship program, we have the opportunity to brighten the path for students who have excelled both in and out of the classroom. These students are our future, and we are privileged to help them achieve great things.”

Through the Lawton Community Foundation scholarship program, graduating seniors from the Cache, Duncan, Elgin, Frederick, Lawton, Eisenhower and MacArthur high schools are eligible to apply for five scholarships awarding more than $25,000 every year. Recipients include students who may not be at the top of their class academically, but are good students and are active in their community, as well as students who participate in ROTC, plan to pursue a degree in health care or plan to attend Cameron University or Great Plains Technology Center. Individual award amounts vary up to $2,000.

“I am very honored to be named a Lawton Community Foundation scholar,” said recipient Daezhana Simmonds, Eisenhower High School senior. “This scholarship will help me achieve my educational goals of attending the University of Oklahoma to pursue a degree in biology.”

Scholarship recipients for the 2017-18 academic year are as follows:

Lawton Community Foundation Scholars ($2,000 awards)
Eisenhower High School – Kayla Ash, Daezhana Simmonds
Lawton High School – Kai Daniels, Zachary Hanna
MacArthur High School – Louis Jackson, Courtney Martin
Cache High School – Elizabeth Godfrey, Elijah Kirton
Elgin High School – Zachary Garrett
Frederick High School – Ryan Ard

Frank Curran Memorial/Lawton Noon Lions Club Scholarship (four-year, $1,500 award)
Lawton MacArthur High School  – Danielle Lewis

Nell Franklin Scholarship ($2,000 award)
Eisenhower High School – Sydney Crockett

Lamont N. Wilson ROTC Scholarship ($1,000 award)
Eisenhower High School – Jacob O’Connor

Benny McReynolds Memorial Scholarship ($2,000 award)
Frederick High School – Kaisen Walker