$25,000 in Scholarships Awarded to Lawton Area High School Seniors

The 2016 scholars
Front row, left to right: Colt Heap, Frederick High School; Esmeralda Velazquez, Altus High School; Jasmine Wilson, Eisenhower High School; Jada Austin, Eisenhower High School; Madison Lyda, Elgin High School; Alexis Hayes, Eisenhower High School. Back row, left to right: Jadel Higdon, Chattanooga High School; Joshua Harris, MacArthur High School; Imani Mays, Lawton High School; Michael Washington, Eisenhower High School; Jaycee London, Elgin High School; Emily Linsky, Duncan High School; Alyssa Supernor, Cache High School; Stephanie Martin, MacArthur High School.

Fourteen Lawton area high school seniors were awarded a total of $25,000 in scholarships at the Lawton Community Foundation’s annual scholarship breakfast April 26 at Cameron University. Awards were presented to recipients from Altus, Cache, Chattanooga, Duncan, Elgin, Frederick and Lawton school districts.

The following scholarships were awarded:

Lawton Community Foundation Scholars Awards – Recipients of the Lawton Community Foundation Scholars Awards and Frank Curran Memorial/Lawton Noon Lions Club Scholarship are selected by the Lawton Community Foundation’s scholarship committee with assistance from high school guidance counselors and a committee at each high school. The following 11 students each received a $1,500, one-time award.

Jasmine Wilson – Eisenhower High School Michael Washington – Eisenhower High School
Alexis Hayes – Eisenhower High School Stephanie Martin – Macarthur High School
Joshua Harris – Macarthur High School Esmeralda Velazquez – Altus High School
Alyssa Supernor – Cache High School Emily Linksy – Duncan High School
Jaycee London – Elgin High School Madison Lyda – Elgin High School
Colt Heap – Frederick High School

Frank Curran Memorial/Lawton Noon Lions Club Scholarship – The following student received an award of $1,500 per year for four years.

Jadel Higdon – Chattanooga High School

Lamont N. Wilson ROTC Scholarship – The scholarship was established in 2010 by an anonymous donor to honor 2003 Eisenhower High School graduate Lamont N. Wilson, who enlisted in the U.S. Marines following graduation and was killed in combat while serving in Iraq in 2004. The scholarship is awarded annually to an ROTC student graduating from Lamont’s alma mater. The following student received a $1,000 award.

Jada Austin – Eisenhower High School

Lawton Health Care Scholarship – The scholarship was established in 2015 to encourage and support students who are pursuing post-secondary education in a health care or medical program at Great Plains Technology Center in Lawton. The following student received a $1,500 award.

Imani Mays – Lawton High School

For more information about the Lawton Community Foundation scholarship program or to learn more about how to establish a scholarship endowment, click here. You may also contact Jennifer Stewart or 580/353-4747.